Florence, I’m coming back!

Yep, it’s official. Today I booked a trip back to la città che riempie il mio cuore. Florence, I’m coming back to you!

I’ve been yearning to return for almost two years now, since departing from my four-month stay. It was hard to accept my time there as a past chapter in my life — a past chapter which cannot continue and cannot be relived. But it’s a chapter worth rereading.

There’s something very human about the need to revisit past experiences which bring us immense joy. Taking your kids to Disneyworld, seeing an old friend, eating your mom’s signature dish, taking a stroll through your childhood park… We are all driven to do these kinds of things. And we never expect them to be exactly the same or mean exactly the same thing as they once did: we accept them as past chapters, but we feel rekindled by rereading them. Or maybe we just feel clarity.

Something has been calling me to go say hello to Florence again. Yes, I acknowledge that the circumstances won’t be the same, and that maybe the Florence I remember might not be the same either. (Although, I’d be shocked if the BC-dated buildings finally gave in). But what I do know for sure is that pages will be much easier to flip forward once this chapter is reread.

“Follow your bliss.”

firenze

More posts about plans & such to come…

Leave a Reply

